April 23, 2020
Piers Morgan is after a role in Line Of Duty after the BBC drama’s showrunner jokingly endorsed his interview technique.
Piers Morgan Wants A Part In Line Of Duty After Interview With MP Helen Whately Sparks 2000 Ofcom Complaints
Jed Mercurio, who is behind the police series, shared a clip of Piers interrogating Care Minister Helen Whately on Good Morning Britain, joking that Adrian Dunbar’s character, Superintendent Ted Hastings, needs to channel the presenter.
“If Emily Maitlis was channelling Kate Fleming, then in #LineofDuty6 Ted Hastings needs to channel @piersmorgan,” Jed tweeted.If Emily Maitlis was channelling Kate Fleming, then in #LineofDuty6 Ted Hastings needs to channel @piersmorganhttps://t.co/VCEI9zeNaN— Jed Mercurio (@jed_mercurio) April 22, 2020The tweet was liked by Vicky McClure, who plays Kate Fleming in the series, and it didn’t take Piers long to notice and to start a campaign for him to be cast.
Speaking on Thursday’s GMB, Piers said: “So, yesterday Jed Mercurio pops up on Twitter. He was watching our exchange with Helen Whately yesterday and he suddenly realised my interrogating skills reminded him of his own show.
“He wanted Detective Hasting to take on my style. I love that. And it was liked by Vicky McClure. I think there’s a bandwagon to get me into Line Of Duty. I am available.”
Piers has also urged viewers to back him after his fiery exchanges with Helen Whately sparked more than 2000 complaints in total to TV watchdog Ofcom.On Wednesday’s edition of Good Morning Britain, Piers called out the Conservative MP after it was revealed the number of Coronavirus tests given in the UK had decreased, and were well away from the target of 100,000 tests a day.
After insisting everyone was working as hard as possible to ensure there was adequate testing available, she called out Piers for talking over her.
“I’ve been quite straight with you and others I have spoken to that we know people are dying in care homes and we know more people than usual are dying in care homes,” she said. “The problem is, you just keep on interrupting me.”
Their latest clash came after Piers called out the MP for awkwardly laughing when discussing the reported figures of care home deaths that have gone unreported.  The exchange led to 1910 complaints being filed about Piers to Ofcom.
Responding to the complaints on Wednesday, Piers tweeted: “Apparently nearly 2000 people have now complained to @Ofcom about me grilling Care minister Helen Whateley too ‘unfairly’ when she couldn’t answer even basic questions.
“If you think I should continue grilling ministers in the way I’ve been doing, please tell @OFCOM. Thanks.”Apparently nearly 2000 people have now complained to @Ofcom about me grilling Care minister Helen Whateley too 'unfairly' when she couldn't answer even basic questions. If you think I should continue grilling ministers in the way I've been doing, please tell @OFCOM. Thanks.— Piers Morgan (@piersmorgan) April 22, 2020Some viewers have accused Piers of “bullying”, while others said the presenter was doing his Job and holding the minister “to account”.
Ofcom said in a statement: “We are assessing the complaints against our broadcasting rules, but are yet to decide whether or not to investigate.”READ MORE: Piers Morgan Forced To Apologise To Lady Gaga After Her Together At Home Event Raises Over £100m 'You're Toast': Piers Morgan Bans Any Mention Of Harry And Meghan On GMB Piers Morgan And Susanna Reid Clash In Furious Victoria Beckham Row
Related Stories
Latest News
Top news around the world
Coronavirus Disease

Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) is an infectious disease caused by a newly discovered coronavirus.

Most people infected with the COVID-19 virus will experience mild to moderate respiratory illness and recover without requiring special treatment. Older people, and those with underlying medical problems like cardiovascular disease, diabetes, chronic respiratory disease, and cancer are more likely to develop serious illness.

Around the World

Celebrity News

> Latest News in Media

Watch It
The Head and the Heart - Live from My Den
November 30, 2020
L0YrtwPIe44
7 Questions with Jamie Dornan
November 25, 2020
bqZLJEd8Gxs
Why 'Selena' star Christian Serratos Chose to Lip-Sync Selena's Songs
November 25, 2020
FNz_Pal3qeo
See how Kandi Burruss, Kim Zolciak and more Housewives' faces have changed | Page Six Celebrity News
November 30, 2020
wjecPZuaLkc
Chris Kattan is up for ‘A Night at the Roxbury’ sequel | Page Six Celebrity News
November 30, 2020
vnBFuv6q1FU
Jennifer Lawrence’s family farm burned to ashes in ‘horrible fire’ | Page Six Celebrity News
November 30, 2020
2NV52k-oDoQ
Paris Hilton Has A Room Dedicated To Her Juicy Couture Clothing | TMZ TV
December 01, 2020
CoHE4nDQBZo
Tichina Arnold Says Grammys Epitomize Problem with Award Shows | TMZ
November 30, 2020
S4zo6QxV5oY
Santa-For-Hire Says COVID's Left Some Impersonators Out in the Cold
November 29, 2020
hgd5xnRT1q4
Gaga Tree Hugging, Obama's UFOs & Bieber's Ice Emergency
December 01, 2020
lkr6fR9rsos
Nick Jonas & Priyanka Chopra Celebrate 2nd Wedding Anniversary | E! News
December 01, 2020
_9gheLnq-ok
Nikki Bella Congratulates Ex John Cena on Wedding | E! News
December 01, 2020
hABCfIarrgE
TV Schedule
Late Night Show
Watch the latest shows of U.S. top comedians

Sports

Latest sport results, news, videos, interviews and comments
Latest Events
01
Dec
ENGLAND: Championship
QPR - Bristol City
01
Dec
ENGLAND: Championship
Derby County - Coventry
01
Dec
ENGLAND: Championship
Birmingham - Barnsley
01
Dec
ENGLAND: Championship
Rotherham - Brentford
01
Dec
ENGLAND: Championship
Cardiff City - Huddersfield
30
Nov
ENGLAND: Premier League
West Ham United - Aston Villa
30
Nov
ENGLAND: Premier League
Leicester City - Fulham
30
Nov
SPAIN: La Liga
Real Betis - Eibar
30
Nov
ITALY: Serie A
Genoa - Parma
30
Nov
ITALY: Serie A
Torino - Sampdoria
29
Nov
ENGLAND: Premier League
Chelsea - Tottenham Hotspur
29
Nov
ITALY: Serie A
Napoli - Roma
29
Nov
ENGLAND: Premier League
Arsenal - Wolves
29
Nov
ENGLAND: Premier League
Southampton - Manchester United
29
Nov
ITALY: Serie A
AC Milan - Fiorentina
29
Nov
SPAIN: La Liga
Barcelona - Osasuna
29
Nov
ENGLAND: Championship
Nottingham Forest - Swansea City
29
Nov
GERMANY: Bundesliga
Mainz - Hoffenheim
29
Nov
GERMANY: Bundesliga
Bayer Leverkusen - Hertha Berlin
29
Nov
SPAIN: La Liga
Real Sociedad - Villarreal
29
Nov
SPAIN: La Liga
Celta Vigo - Granada CF
29
Nov
ITALY: Serie A
Cagliari - Spezia
29
Nov
SPAIN: La Liga
Getafe - Athletic Bilbao
29
Nov
ITALY: Serie A
Bologna - Crotone
29
Nov
ITALY: Serie A
Lazio - Udinese
28
Nov
GERMANY: Bundesliga
Stuttgart - Bayern Munich
28
Nov
GERMANY: Bundesliga
Borussia Dortmund - Koln
28
Nov
SPAIN: La Liga
Real Madrid - Alaves
28
Nov
ENGLAND: Premier League
Brighton - Liverpool
28
Nov
ENGLAND: Premier League
Manchester City - Burnley
28
Nov
ITALY: Serie A
Benevento - Juventus
28
Nov
ITALY: Serie A
Sassuolo - Inter Milan
28
Nov
SPAIN: La Liga
Valencia - Atletico Madrid
28
Nov
GERMANY: Bundesliga
Borussia Monchengladbach - Schalke
28
Nov
ENGLAND: Championship
Huddersfield - Middlesbrough
28
Nov
ENGLAND: Championship
Cardiff City - Luton
28
Nov
ENGLAND: Championship
Birmingham - Millwall
28
Nov
ENGLAND: Championship
Rotherham - Bournemouth
28
Nov
ENGLAND: Championship
Blackburn - Barnsley
28
Nov
ENGLAND: Championship
Derby County - Wycombe Wanderers
28
Nov
ENGLAND: Premier League
West Bromwich Albion - Sheffield United
28
Nov
ITALY: Serie A
Atalanta - Verona
28
Nov
ENGLAND: Premier League
Everton - Leeds
28
Nov
SPAIN: La Liga
Huesca - Sevilla
25
Nov
CHAMPIONS LEAGUE: Group stage, Group B
Inter Milan - Real Madrid
22
Nov
ITALY: Serie A
Napoli - AC Milan
22
Nov
ENGLAND: Premier League
Liverpool - Leicester City
22
Nov
ENGLAND: Premier League
Leeds - Arsenal
22
Nov
ITALY: Serie A
Inter Milan - Torino
22
Nov
ITALY: Serie A
Roma - Parma
21
Nov
SPAIN: La Liga
Atletico Madrid - Barcelona
21
Nov
ENGLAND: Premier League
Manchester United - West Bromwich Albion
Find us on Instagram
at @feedimo to stay up to date with the latest.
Featured Video You Might Like
zWJ3MxW_HWA L1eLanNeZKg i1XRgbyUtOo -g9Qziqbif8 0vmRhiLHE2U JFCZUoa6MYE UfN5PCF5EUo 2PV55f3-UAg W3y9zuI_F64 -7qCxIccihU pQ9gcOoH9R8 g5MRDEXRk4k
Copyright © 2020 Feedimo. All Rights Reserved.