September 09, 2019
It might have been one of the year’s most anticipated films, but critics have not pulled any punches when it comes to the big-screen adaptation of The Goldfinch.
The Goldfinch Reviews: Critics Pull Precisely Zero Punches As Film Debuts At Toronto Film Festival
The Goldfinch – based on the Pulitzer-winning novel by Donna Tartt – is something film fans have been looking forward to ever since it was announced, not just because of the critical acclaim the novel received, but also because of its impressive all-star cast, which includes Nicole Kidman, Ansel Elgort, Sarah Paulson and Stranger Things’ Finn Wolfhard.
However, after receiving its debut at the Toronto International Film Festival over the weekend, critics have begun sharing their initial reviews on Twitter, and calling the film divisive would be putting it generously.Among critics’ biggest qualms is the film’s length (which shouldn’t come as too much of a surprise to anyone who has actually read the book), while it’s also been branded “deathly dull”, “shockingly bad” and even a “disaster”.
It’s not all bad news, though, with some singling out how well the film is shot, as well as praising performances from Nicole Kidman, Ansel Elgort and Finn Wolfhard.
Here’s a selection of what has been said so far…THE GOLDFINCH is one of the worst movies I’ve seen all year. It’s shockingly bad. https://t.co/VJdD9rLDP1— Matt Goldberg (@MattGoldberg) September 9, 2019Ugh. THE GOLDFINCH was so bland and boring, I just. I really can't say much other than nothing happens for almost 2 hrs, then everything happens at once but it's so disconnected that it evokes no feeling. #TIFF19— Yolanda Machado (@SassyMamainLA) September 9, 2019THE GOLDFINCH: Gorgeous and airless. The actors all do what they can, and some — Finn Wolfhard, Sarah Paulson — manage to shake the film out of its chilly self-consciousness. Nothing, though, can rescue the absurdly rushed and busy final act. #TIFF19— Adam B. Vary @ TIFF (@adambvary) September 9, 2019THE GOLDFINCH: A movie as inert as the oil painting it is titled for. John Crowley's listless direction and a cast apparently afflicted with narcolepsy make this the first big bomb of #TIFF19 Some books were never meant to be movies. pic.twitter.com/3ZCfDtyuky— Peter Howell (@peterhowellfilm) September 9, 2019Just saw The Goldfinch, and as a fan of the book, I’m so disappointed. But also, I guess it’s a testament to the power of literature. Some things just can’t or won’t translate to the screen.— Britt Julious (@britticisms) September 9, 2019The embargo's up on THE GOLDFINCH, a handsome, earnest and deathly dull adaptation of Donna Tartt's Pulitzer Prize-winning novel. #TIFF19https://t.co/odfgDvZPy9— Glenn Sumi (@glennsumi) September 9, 2019Based solely on the evidence presented in the movie version, I'd have to guess that the novel THE GOLDFINCH, which I have not read, must be the silliest Pulitzer-winner ever.— Bob Mondello (@Bob_Mondello) September 9, 2019I saw The Goldfinch last night. I liked the actors and the performances but it was definitely 20 minutes too long. It was slow until near the end and then so much happened it was confusing. At least to me. #TheGoldfinch— Alana Stewart (@AlanaKStewart) September 9, 2019THE GOLDFINCH: The longest movie of the year. Don’t fact check that. Just trust me.— Brian Tallerico (@Brian_Tallerico) September 9, 2019I’m afraid THE GOLDFINCH isn’t very good. As usual these days, too faithful to a text that needed more ruthless rearranging. It looks nice enough, I guess. #TIFF19pic.twitter.com/2XpyX7C458— 🥃Donald Clarke📽 (@DonaldClarke63) September 9, 2019Yikes. I emerged from THE GOLDFINCH, wondering if I was maybe being a bit harsh in my own head. Looks as if I hated it about 25 percent less than the current hatred mean. A future candidate for @Had_Oscar_Buzz, I suspect. #TIFF19— 🥃Donald Clarke📽 (@DonaldClarke63) September 9, 2019I really liked the movie for everyone asking! Yes - it’s long, I think 20 minutes or so could have been cut out. But overall it’s a good movie and I loved every performance. Finn Wolfhard is amazing too! Loved his accent. #TheGoldfinch— Lauren Veneziani (@DCfilmgirl) September 9, 2019Really enjoyed watching the story unfold in #TheGoldfinch. @AnselElgort gives a beautiful performance and Nicole Kidman is as lovely as ever. Roger Deakins cinematography is stunning!!!! And Sarah Paulson is amazing!! Loved her role. @MsSarahPaulson#TIFF19pic.twitter.com/IE8qpzOLHp— Lauren Veneziani (@DCfilmgirl) September 9, 2019It was maybe a very brave mistake to try to make a movie out of a novel like #TheGoldfinch but not an uninteresting one, I sort of fell for it anyway #TIFF2019— Leah Greenblatt (@Leahbats) September 9, 2019Deakins continues to amaze me. John Crowley told me an amazing story about this shot from #TheGoldfinch. Deakins took a sweater & shook it resulting in the dust you see falling in this shot from the trailer. Great performances especially from Wright, Cummings & Elgort. #TIFF2019pic.twitter.com/yTJdLjKmdH— Kevin McCarthy (@KevinMcCarthyTV) September 9, 2019Upon its release in 2013, the novel version of The Goldfinch topped the US bestsellers list for more than 30 weeks, similarly reaching the number one spot in the Sunday Times’ bestsellers list in the UK.
Aside from the aforementioned actors, the film also stars Aneurin Barnard, Luke Wilson, Jeffrey Wright and Denis O’Hare.
The Goldfinch will hit cinemas in the UK on 27 September.MORE FILM... Harry Potter Author J.K. Rowling Sparks Fan Speculation With Cryptic Cursed Child Tweet Scarlett Johansson Raises Eyebrows With New Comments In Support Of Woody Allen Let's Face It: The 2019 Summer Movie Season Was Dreadful
Related Stories
Latest News
Top news around the world
Coronavirus Disease

Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) is an infectious disease caused by a newly discovered coronavirus.

Most people infected with the COVID-19 virus will experience mild to moderate respiratory illness and recover without requiring special treatment. Older people, and those with underlying medical problems like cardiovascular disease, diabetes, chronic respiratory disease, and cancer are more likely to develop serious illness.

Around the World

Celebrity News

> Latest News in Media

Watch It
Wanda Sykes and Scott Baio at war over Joe Biden’s ‘ain’t black’ remarks | Page Six Celebrity News
May 28, 2020
u3TYzRbpRdk
John Krasinski and Emily Blunt's relationship is cuter than Jim and Pam's | Page Six Celebrity News
May 28, 2020
9gYT3vMnh68
'Too Hot To Handle’ star Francesca Farago shows us her new bikini line | Page Six Celebrity News
May 28, 2020
D6tAriY2AYg
George Floyd Family Outraged at FBI, Prosecutors Failing to Arrest Cops | TMZ
May 28, 2020
VPgyQpZ-ToI
Kim Kardashian Applauds Ex-Inmate for Mixtape Produced in Prison | TMZ
May 28, 2020
Z_E2N-3b0lw
Victoria Beckham FINALLY Smiles | TMZ
May 28, 2020
kYOuDAgx4mQ
Reese's Smoothie Recipe, DJ Khaled's Hazmat Pedi & 5 Hair Transplants | Nightly Pop | E! News
May 29, 2020
ucQ_lRBZZlQ
Biebers vs. TicToc Doc, Lisa's Sex Ed & Fed Ex Goes Gaga - "Nightly Pop" 05/28/2020 | E! News
May 29, 2020
83T4wN4ARCA
Dancer Uses TikTok to Help Fight Cancer | Feel Good Friday | E! News
May 29, 2020
_wnnw_-lmkc
Gabrielle Union on 'America's Got Talent' Toxicity, Why She Doesn't Regret Speaking Out
May 27, 2020
2KaefM_QT-Q
'Brockmire' Stars Amanda Peet, Hank Azaria Reflect on Series Finale and Onscreen Chemistry
May 26, 2020
XcG_gLdG-Gk
Marcia Gay Harden talks 'Barkskins," "Moxie," and Working With Amy Poehler
May 26, 2020
Gae-emoK8A0
TV Schedule
Late Night Show
Watch the latest shows of U.S. top comedians

Sports

Latest sport results, news, videos, interviews and comments
Latest Events
08
Mar
ITALY: Serie A
Juventus - Inter Milan
08
Mar
ENGLAND: Premier League
Manchester United - Manchester City
08
Mar
ENGLAND: Premier League
Chelsea - Everton
08
Mar
SPAIN: La Liga
Real Betis - Real Madrid
08
Mar
ITALY: Serie A
AC Milan - Genoa
07
Mar
ENGLAND: Premier League
Burnley - Tottenham Hotspur
07
Mar
ENGLAND: Premier League
Arsenal - West Ham United
07
Mar
SPAIN: La Liga
Barcelona - Real Sociedad
07
Mar
ENGLAND: Premier League
Liverpool - Bournemouth
07
Mar
SPAIN: La Liga
Atletico Madrid - Sevilla
01
Mar
SPAIN: La Liga
Real Madrid - Barcelona
01
Mar
ENGLAND: Premier League
Everton - Manchester United
01
Mar
ENGLAND: Premier League
Tottenham Hotspur - Wolves
01
Mar
SPAIN: La Liga
Espanyol - Atletico Madrid
01
Mar
ITALY: Serie A
Cagliari - Roma
29
Feb
ENGLAND: Premier League
Watford - Liverpool
29
Feb
ITALY: Serie A
Napoli - Torino
29
Feb
ENGLAND: Premier League
Bournemouth - Chelsea
24
Feb
ENGLAND: Premier League
Liverpool - West Ham United
23
Feb
ENGLAND: Premier League
Arsenal - Everton
23
Feb
ENGLAND: Premier League
Manchester United - Watford
23
Feb
ITALY: Serie A
Roma - Lecce
23
Feb
SPAIN: La Liga
Atletico Madrid - Villarreal
22
Feb
SPAIN: La Liga
Levante - Real Madrid
22
Feb
ITALY: Serie A
Fiorentina - AC Milan
22
Feb
ENGLAND: Premier League
Leicester City - Manchester City
22
Feb
ITALY: Serie A
Spal - Juventus
Find us on Instagram
at @feedimo to stay up to date with the latest.
Featured Video You Might Like
0vmRhiLHE2U JFCZUoa6MYE UfN5PCF5EUo 2PV55f3-UAg W3y9zuI_F64 -7qCxIccihU pQ9gcOoH9R8 g5MRDEXRk4k tudKp5Vhs3k iwWHibhssSo kQr0XHPbICM 5NeCb7JxaRk
Copyright © 2020 Feedimo. All Rights Reserved.